WIAW #2 – fruit and veggies

Time for my second What I Ate Wednesday, linking up with the wonderful Peas and Crayons blog.

 

This one will be fruit/vegetable focussed as the government has announced new guidelines that we should now be eating at least 7 but ideally 10 portions of fruit and vegetable a day. That seems like a huge amount so I thought today would be a good chance to see how many portions I get into my day…. I haven’t planned my meals around this at all so it will be a completely fair look at my usual eating habits!

Breakfast:

I’m a creature of habit when it comes to breakfast. This morning saw a 13k cycle and then an 800m swim session (half an hour in the pool). I was starving by the time I got to breakfast and I love this porridge, made with water, topped with honey and dried bananas.

Dried bananas = 1 portion of fruit

smoothie

Lunch:

I accept the picture doesn’t look very nice but this was a delicious chicken pie, prepared by James over the weekend, frozen, and then taken out of the freezer to be cooked last night. By cooked I mean shoved in the oven for 40 minutes while James cooked asparagus risotto for our dinner last night.

Leeks, carrots, onions and garlic = at least 2 portions of veg

porridge 2

Snack:chicken pie

As I had my lunch immediately after a 45 min gym strength session, I was still hungry and in need of nutrients afterwards so I started sipping on my super-green smoothie. I love this. Half an avocado, 1 apple,a large handful of spinach, big chunk of ginger and several mint leaves (along with coconut water). All that has to be two portions of fruit / veg, right?! The coconut water makes it just that little bit sweet so that it (kind of) fulfils my sweet cravings after lunch. Yum!

I kept craving things throughout the afternoon and I was determined not to have any more food snacks so I had:

– a can of diet coke

– a huge cup of this amazing lemon and ginger tea from M&S. Waitrose used to do it and I was devastated when they stopped until James picked this up from M&S. It is just so much better than Twinings Lemon & Ginger. In fact I really dislike Twinings Lemon & Ginger. This just has a lovely spicy flavour to it. I’m a huge fan 🙂 I first took to this tea when I was working some horrifically late nights (until the early or not-so-early hours of the morning) and it really helped keep me awake through the long hours whilst also making me feel warm and happy 🙂

tea

 

Dinner:

No picture of my dinner I’m afraid as I managed to drop my iphone down the toilet after it had finished so I’m now phone-less and very sad 😦

As it was a friend’s birthday I had dinner in The Eagle in Farringdon. Its a nice enough pub, with the menu on huge blackboards above the bar. Food is ordered and paid for at the bar and then brought to the table. I must say I was in a slightly bad mood as, although we all ordered at the same time, everyone else had almost finished their meal before mine was brought to the table! So perhaps I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as I would have anyway…. but I had chicken breast marinated in marissa, with rice and a salad of tomatos, rocket and spring onions.

Two portions of fruit and veg?

Along with another diet coke (oops – I was trying not to drink too much alcohol but two diet cokes in a day probably isn’t great!) and a wheat beer. Yum!

Seven portions of fruit and veg in one day – not too bad!

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

