The problem with swimming

The problem with swimming is that I am no good at it.

The problem with swimming is that, unlike with running or cycling, time spent in the pool won’t automatically make you any better. You can just be a bad swimmer, unnatural in the water.

The problem with swimming is that the more I do it, I still don’t notice much improvement.

The problem with swimming is that I have a mental block over it. I try hard, honestly I do, whenever I get in that pool, I put my all in. And sometimes a 100m will feel easy and my catch will be right and I’ll come out smiling. Then the next time, even 20m will feel too far and I’ll be gasping for breath.

The problem with swimming is that I love the feeling of my heart pounding in my chest in a way it rarely does with the other sports – getting to that stage of breathlessness is more effortless in the pool.

The problem with swimming is that it is a challenge. And that is why I do it. Why don’t i do duathlon, if I find swimming so hard? It’s a good suggestion. And yet giving up would be just that, a duathlon would be giving up, no matter how well I did, it would never be enough because I didn’t do that swim.

The great thing about swimming is that there is nothing better than running out of the lake, unzipping that wetsuit, a huge smile on my face as I repeat to myself “it’s all easy from here – you did the swim, you can do anything!”

So despite the fact that I will never be a natural swimmer, that it will always be a struggle, both physically and for motivation, I will keep doing it because I will not give up, and because there is nothing better than finishing a swim!!

Leave a Reply

