Another running post….

I have lots of good blog posts on different topics lined up / in my head / on the tip of my tongue (fingers?) I promise…. but I have been enjoying the National Running Day posts so much I wanted to keep on sharing the running love.

Today by answering some questions I got from Karen at French Inspiration – an American runner, blogger and mum living in Paris.

1. How many miles have you run so far this year?

Around about 330 miles – 530km. I loved training for my marathon, then barely ran in February as I was trying to stave off knee pain so I could run the marathon… then other than the marathon barely ran in March … and ever since then I’ve been ramping it back up!

IMG_6143

2. What big events do you have on the race calendar so far this year?

Firstly – Madrid triathlon. Next up I am considering another Olympic distance triathlon at the beginning of September. The end of September / October will either see a half Ironman, or a second marathon. If my mum qualifies to represent GBR at the triathlon world champs in Chicago, then I will do the marathon. If she doesn’t, we’ll do a half ironman together. I’m happy with either! I’m then hoping on a half marathon at the end of October, and maybe another 100 miles on the bike around then as well.

IMG_1436

3. Before you leave for an (outside) run you must have:

My phone, my Yurbuds (they are awesome) and my FlipBelt (equally awesome). Now I’m in Madrid I also need my visor and a bottle of water!

IMG_6195

4. Do you have one favorite app to track your runs?

Strava all the way. I use it to track my cycles too and have started manually inputting my swims so that all the information is in one place.

5. If you had to give someone one piece of advice about running what would it be? 

Don’t be scared, or think you need to be super-fit, or super-fast. A ten minute run is better than no run, and I couldn’t run at all just over a year ago. If you want to start running further than just ten minutes, why not try running home from work? Leave everything there except your phone and keys, and you can walk/run home. The thought that you will be home much sooner if you run than if you walk will help a lot with motivation, I promise!

IMG_5875

Can barely remember what it felt like to have to run with so many clothes on!

Five questions … so this is also a slightly late Friday Five link-up with Mar on the Run, Eat Pray Run and You Signed up for What – posted on Saturday!

Janathon Day 6 is just beginning but the exercise will involve a hell-a-lot of walking and around about an hours swim. Day 5 was a 9km walk. That counts, right? And a one minute plank……

5 comments

  1. Hi Alice this is Varya I have read you blog and I really liked it good job !!!😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😏😏😏😏😏😏😘

Leave a Reply

