Quick & easy week-night dinner

I was so happy with my dinner last night (and lunch today!) that I just had to share it – my first recipe post in a really long time! And two posts in one day!

It comes from my Honey & Co cookbook. Honey & Co are one of my favourite restaurants in London. I’ve only been once, when James took me for a surprise on my birthday last year, with the cookbook thrown in as well, but we are booked to go again in November and I can’t wait.

IMG_5490

The food is Middle Eastern style and ranges from mezze to full dishes to puddings, and from quick and easy to long and slow and complicated. On a Wednesday night, quick and easy is clearly the name of the game!


This is basically chickpeas and couscous with spices, salad and a poached egg. Perfect!

  1. Chop up small half an onion and fry it with 3 chopped up cloves of garlic
  2. After a couple of minutes, add in a tablespoon of ras el hanut. I’ve started to see this spice sold more and more in London, but if you can’t get hold of it, it is made up of a mixture of spices including turmeric, cinnamon, cumin, nutmeg, paprika…. I would say the cumin was probably the strongest in the particular blend I have. The internet is full of recipes for making your own from more accessible spices.
  3. Add in a teaspoon of salt. Mix it all together until the onions and garlic are coated in the spices, and then dice and add in one big tomato or several small ones.
  4. Drain a tin of chickpeas and add this to the frying pan.
  5. Add in 60g couscous and 180ml boiling water. Stir altogether and bring to the boil, before turning off the heat, covering and leaving to stand for 5-10 minutes.
  6. While the couscous absorbs the water, quickly poach an egg or two.
  7. Stir lettuce leaves / salad of choice into the couscous/chickpea mixture (avocado works really well here). Spoon it onto the plate and sit the poached egg on top.
  1. If you’re greedy, like me, mix in a big dollop of hummus.


Perfect!! Vegetarian, healthy, easy, quick, mainly store cupboard ingredients… What’s not to love?! AND I finished off the leftovers for lunch (cold, and without the poached egg). I think this might become a regular dish….

p.s. I have been fiddling around with the layout of my blog a bit today and sorting out the menus – I have menus! And sub-menus! I’m very proud of myself – hopefully it all works! ūüôā

2 comments

Leave a Reply

