Ultra marathon training – half marathon race week

Despite the blog silence I am still (kind of) training and I am getting back on track after my failed weekend the one before last. I’ve been tapering for a half marathon race this week (and running the race!) which meant my busy week fit in quite well. 

Running:

Run 1 was a lovely 8 mile run all the way into work, 5 miles at an effort but the rest easy. 3 mile warm-up is about what I need in the morning! Despite being tired it meant I was able to wake up properly while I slowly jogged along. The weather was gorgeous, no need for a jacket and the flowers were out in full force.


Run 2 was 10 x 1 minute efforts on the treadmill. This flew by as I watched the news and marvelled over how ridiculous the world is these days. Efforts at 13kph until the last few where I gradually increased the speed from 13.5kph.

Run 3 didn’t happen as I didn’t get home from work until midnight… Instead, it was an easy 30 minute jog around Brockwell Park on Saturday morning.

Run 4 was a great, great, fantastic, brilliant run. The Heartbreaker Half Marathon in the New Forest. A detailed recap will be on its way but in summary, I loved this race. I felt brilliant, was really pleased with my time of 1hr 51 (over 10 minutes faster than my last half marathon race last year). And then I was even happier to find I had come 4th in my age group and 7th woman out of 98!!!!




Cross-training
: Monday evening weights, these days I am in a nice routine of popping down to the gym around 6pm when I know I am going to be working late. I then have dinner at my desk and work a few more hours but it feels nice and split up – as if I have renewed energy for the evening’s work! I also woke up early Wednesday morning to cycle to work and then get to the gym for 30 minutes of weights before I had to be at my desk.

Something fun that was nothing to do with running:

A slightly odd one but work generally has been great. I had a really good day on Thursday where I was working slightly out of my comfort zone by leading (and attending by myself) meetings – but they were all on really interesting topics that I know well so I felt I was able to do a good job. Then I went for a drink with colleagues, chatting to those that are already friends and getting to know others. Then Friday at work involved lots of follow-ups from the previous day’s meetings, which was interesting, before going to meet Charlotte for a few glasses of wine and tacos at Tacos Al Pastor. All in all a great evening!

I worked on Saturday morning before getting the train down to my mum’s, where we ate a lovely dinner and planned some trips… I am now flying out to support her in Kitzbuhel for the Olympic Distance European Tri Championship and we have entered Hever Castle half Ironman together!! Plus there was some more talk of Ironman….. The future is looking very exciting 😃

3 comments

Leave a Reply

