Hump Day Inspiration

Wednesday again – so here’s another happy hump day inspiration post.

countrysideBeautiful colours and scenery make me want to get off the sofa and be outdoors

I’m still needing the inspiration this week – it’s that time of the month and I don’t know if you other women get this but I always have a week or so of feeling totally lethargic. I re-read some of these posts last night and it already made me annoyed at the fact I was home by 7pm, it was still light, and I was far too lazy to actually go and do anything. A great running quote is “I really regret that run, said no one, ever” – I need to drill that into my brain! (I guess this doesn’t apply with injuries, but it really does apply to laziness)

1) 30 miles for a 30th birthday by Sweat Once a Day

This is inspirational for me as it sounds like so much fun! A fantastic idea for a 30th birthday but not one I would be able to do… plus the pictures of trail running are beautiful. It really makes me want to increase my mileage and try some trail runs so I could manage something like that.

2) Triathlon: the tractor of life by Swim Bike Mom

To describe this post, I just need to give you one quote:

Triathlon, for me, is a giant tractor… if I get on my tractor in the morning, and ride the path for a little bit, it clears out all the funk and mess — so I can see exactly what a beautiful life it is

I also love the idea of triathlon as a tractor. I get completely what she is saying, but I would never describe it as a tractor! Swim Bike Mom’s blog is so fantastic, she is really, really honest about her life, her attitudes and struggles and as a result it is incredibly refreshing and inspirational. I can’t recommend it enough.

3) Note from a non-runner: I am not a runner. I am just someone who loves to be alive

This is so lovely and I completely associate with what she says about the thoughts that run through our heads when we’re running, even down to the fact I too wonder about the people living in the houses I’m passing! And how much those houses they are and whether they have nice wooden floors and new kitchens….

“Whether it is that feeling I get on mile 3 that I could run forever, or that feeling I have on mile 13 that I want to puke – running reminds me I am alive”

Running and cycling also reminds me of beauty…. that while I may spend the whole day at work staring at a screen, the world outside me is beautiful. The view from the top of Brockwell Park stretching out towards the city, Tower Bridge all lit up as I cycle over it at night. Or if I manage to get out into the country, the fields and the faraway horizon. Training allows us to spend much more time outside, and the world out there is beautiful!

IMG_1638Almost impossible to believe this picture was taken in Brixton, central London

Oh and one final thing that motivates me….. a brand new brightly coloured outfit to work out in! Say goodbye to those black leggings 😀 new outfit

Leave a comment